Something I’m Trying…

So, I’m attempting to start a book discussion group for teens at the library. The group is called Music Is My Life and will feature books that have musicians and music as a major characteristic.

K.L. Going’s Fat Kid Rules the World, which was a Printz honor book for 2004, will be the first selection for the group. Great book. Read it.

fat kid cover

I really want this to be an interactive group though, not just reading and discussing, so I’m trying a few other things such as sharing favorite songs and albums…actually using music rather than solely reading about it. Ultimately, I’d love to see some musicians involved in the group and wanting to make music together that they could perform at the library…perhaps music inspired by the books we’ve read? But I’m getting way ahead of myself.

A VOYA article not too long ago discussed music-related programming, and in particular making mixes/playlists. Making mixes could lead to some copyright issues, so I wanted to avoid that. I don’t even remember how I heard about it now, but there’s this social networking site called imeem. It’s sort of like a next-gen MySpace (which is great since MySpace seems very stuck in a few years ago in terms of design). All in all, I think it is pretty cool. It combines blogging with the ability to upload music/videos and create playlists, along with all the other usual social networking features such as tagging, friending, etc. The blogging, however, isn’t as elegant or feature-filled as here on WordPress, however.

Anyway, that all being said, I created an imeem account for the book discussion group. I’ve begun uploading music I like to share with the group, and in addition, K.L. Going compiled her unofficial soundtrack for Fat Kid Rules the World on her website (trust me, it’s there, just keep scrolling down) so I added the songs for that, which I think will be a great way to get things going with discussion. I’m debating what to do next with it. I don’t expect the group members to actually create their own imeem accounts (though that would be great if they wanted to so I might recommend it). Instead I may just provide the account login info to them so they can go in and create their own personalized playlists to share and have access to the blog for discussion and commenting on each other’s picks and the books.

So, that’s where things stand with my teen programming experiment…I’ll post further on it when there’s more news.

Here’s the link to the Music Is My Life book discussion group imeem page.

music boy

Leave a Reply

